Generic filters
Exact matches only

TNPSC Group I Syllabus & Notes and Sports Awards

3 6 years ago

Sports Awards

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

  • It is India’s highest honour given for achievement in sports, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.
  • The award is named after the late Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India.
  • It brings a medal, a scroll of honour and a cash prize of ` 750,000.
  • The award was instituted in the year 1991–92 to supply the lack of a supreme national accolade in the field of sports. The award is conferred for outstanding sporting performance, either by an individual or a team and includes all sporting disciplines in a given year.

Arjuna Award

  • The award is given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports.
  • The award was instituted in 1961; and carries a cash prize of ` 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.
  • Gurbachan Singh Randhawa (Athletics) was the first awardee in 1961. Stephie D’Souza was the first woman to win the Arjuna Award.
  • The government has revised the rules of conferring the award from 2001 and now the award will be given in disciplines falling under the categories which include Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket; Indigenous Games or Sports for the Physically Challenged.

Dronacharya Award

  • The Dronacharya Award is given to honour eminent coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions.
  • The award comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash component of ` 500,000. It was instituted in 1985.
  • B.I. Fernandez is the first foreign coach to be awarded Dronacharya Award.

Dhyanchand Award

  • It is award for Lifetime Achievements in Sports and Games given to honour those sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to the advertising of sports even after their retirement from active sporting career. The award was instituted in the 2002.
  • The award carries a cash prize of ` 500,000, a plaque and a scroll of honour.
  • The first awardees in the year 2002 were Aparna Ghosh (Basketball), Ashok Diwan (Hockey) and Shahuraj Birajdar (Boxing).



[sociallocker id=62]

[wpdm_package id=’235′]





  1. Vijayakumar

    Thank you for sharing with us

  2. Ramesh

Leave a Reply