TNPSC GROUO IV Model Question with Answer & Bharat Ratna Awards

Bharat Ratna
• Also known as the Jewel of India, it is the highest civilian award in India.
• The award was instituted on 2nd January 1954 to honour people in recognition of their exceptional service of the
highest order without any distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex.
• The award is conferred in any field of human endeavour including achievements in the field of arts, literature,
science, and public services.
• The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are commenced by the Prime Minister to the President, with
a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year.
• The recipients of the award receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal-leaf–shaped medallion; there is no monetary grant associated with the award.
• C. Rajagopalachari, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and C. V. Raman were the first recipients of the Bharat Ratna in 1954.
• The award to naturalised citizen, Mother Teresa is the only one till date whereas the two non-Indians to receive
the award are Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (Pakistan) and former South African President Nelson Mandela

Controversies surrounding the Bharat Ratna 
• A Public Interest Litigation (PIL) was filed at the Calcutta High court following the announcement of conferring
Subhash Chandra Bose posthumously with the Nobel Prize in 1992. Owing to the controversy surrounding Bose’s
death, the posthumous mention of Bose was criticised, and his family also refused to accept the award. Finally
the Supreme Court in 1997 passed an order to revoke the award as the Government of India had not officially
accepted death of Bose on 18th August 1945.
• Other controversies include filing of PILs challenging the award being conferred to C. N. R. Rao and Sachin
Tendulkar. The PIL against Rao stated that otherscientists like Vikram Sarabhai and Homi Bhabha fitted better in
the criteria of being awarded the prestigious Bharat Ratna than Rao. In case of cricketer Sachin Tendulkar the PIL
was filed to the election Commission of India under the RTI act claiming that conferring Tendulkar with the award
is a technique to woo the voters as election process in Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and
Mizoram were underway at the time. Both the petitions were rejected in the respective high courts.

[sociallocker][wpdm_package id=’212′][/sociallocker]


1954 – C. Rajagopalachari, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, C. V. Raman

1955-  Bhagwan Das, M. Visvesvaraya, Jawaharlal Nehru

1957- Govind Ballabh Pant

1958- Dhondo Keshav Karve

1961- Bidhan Chandra Roy, Purushottam Das Tandon

1962- Rajendra Prasad

1963- Zakir Husain, Pandurang Vaman Kane

1966- Lal Bahadur Shastri

1971- Indira Gandhi

1975- V. V. Giri

1976- K. Kamaraj

1980- Mother Teresa

1983- Vinoba Bhave

1987- Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan

1988 – M. G. Ramachandran

1990- B. R. Ambedkar, Nelson Mandela

1991- Rajiv Gandhi, Morarji Desai, Vallabhbhai Patel

1992- Abul Kalam Azad, J. R. D. Tata, Satyajit Ray

1997- Gulzarilal Nanda, Aruna Asaf Ali, A. P.J. Abdul Kalam

1998- M. S. Subbulakshmi, Chidambaram Subramaniam

1999- Jayaprakash Narayan, Amartya Sen, Gopinath Bordoloi, Ravi Shankar

2001- Lata Mangeshkar, Bismillah Khan

2009- Bhimsen Joshi

2014- C. N. R. Rao, Sachin Tendulkar

2015 – Madan Mohan Malaviya, Atal Bihari Vajpayee



One thought on “TNPSC GROUO IV Model Question with Answer & Bharat Ratna Awards”

Leave a Reply