Group 1 Model Question and Cinema Awards

Film Awards

National Film Award

  • It is the most prestigious film award ceremonies in India which was established in 1954 and was first awarded on 10th October 1954.
  • Since 1973, the Indian Directorate of Film Festivals directs the ceremony along with other major film events in India annually.
  • The awards are categorized in three sections; Feature Films, Non-Feature Films and Best Writing on Cinema. Each section having its individual aims, Feature Film and Non-Feature Film sections aim at encouraging the production of films of aesthetic and technical excellence and social relevance.
  • All the award winners are awarded with a Medallion, cash prize and a certificate of merit. The award ceremony is held in New Delhi, where the President of India presents the awards.


1 Comment

General Knowledge Literary awards

Literary awards

Sahitya Akademi Award 
• This award is annually conferred on writers of the most outstanding books of literary merit in any of the major
Indian languages recognised by the Sahitya Akademi,New Delhi.
• The award was established in 1954. It comprises of a plaque (designed by the Indian film-maker Satyajit Ray)
and a cash prize of ` 100,000.
• The purpose of the award is to recognize and promote excellence in Indian writing and also acknowledge new
trends which involve a 12 month selection process. (more…)

1 Comment

TNPSC Group I Syllabus & Notes and Sports Awards

Sports Awards

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

  • It is India’s highest honour given for achievement in sports, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.
  • The award is named after the late Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India.
  • It brings a medal, a scroll of honour and a cash prize of ` 750,000.
  • The award was instituted in the year 1991–92 to supply the lack of a supreme national accolade in the field of sports. The award is conferred for outstanding sporting performance, either by an individual or a team and includes all sporting disciplines in a given year.



Peacetime Gallantry Awards

Peacetime Gallantry Awards

Ashoka Chakra

  • It is India’s highest peacetime military decoration awarded for valor, courageous action or self-sacrifice

away from the battlefield.


  • The award was formerly established on 4 January 1952 as the “Ashoka Chakra, Class I”.


Close Menu