Generic filters
Exact matches only

Group 1 Model Question and Cinema Awards

1 6 years ago

Film Awards

National Film Award

  • It is the most prestigious film award ceremonies in India which was established in 1954 and was first awarded on 10th October 1954.
  • Since 1973, the Indian Directorate of Film Festivals directs the ceremony along with other major film events in India annually.
  • The awards are categorized in three sections; Feature Films, Non-Feature Films and Best Writing on Cinema. Each section having its individual aims, Feature Film and Non-Feature Film sections aim at encouraging the production of films of aesthetic and technical excellence and social relevance.
  • All the award winners are awarded with a Medallion, cash prize and a certificate of merit. The award ceremony is held in New Delhi, where the President of India presents the awards.

Filmfare Awards

  • The Filmfare Awards are presented annually by The Times Group to honour both artistic and technical excellence of professionals in the Hindi linguistic film industry of India. The Filmfare ceremony is one of the oldest film events in India.
  • The awards were first introduced in 1954, the same year as the National Film Awards. They were initially mentioned to as the Clare Awards or The Clares after Clare Mendonca, the editor of The Times of India.
  • It is often referred to as the Hindi film industry’s equivalent to The Oscars.
  • Do Bigha Zameen was the first movie to win the award for Best Film. The first winners for other four categories were: Bimal Roy for his direction of Do Bigha Zameen, Dilip Kumar for his enactment in Daag, Meena Kumari for her performance in Baiju Bawra, and Naushad Ali for his music in Baiju Bawra.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

  • It is India’s highest award in cinema accessible annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals.
  • The recipient is honoured for their outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema and is selected by a committee containing of renowned personalities from the Indian film industry.
  • The award comprises of a Swarna Kamal, cash Prize of Rs. 10,00,000 and a shawl.
  • The award was established to honour the Father of Indian Cinema, Dhundiraj Govind Phalke. He is the man who made the first Indian Feature film Raja Harishchandra in 1913.
  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was presented in 1969 by the government to recognise the contribution of film characters towards the development of Indian Cinema. The first recipient of this award was Devika Rani.


[wpdm_package id=’293′]


  1. Radha

    I got what you intend, saved to my bookmarks , really decent site .

Leave a Reply